Home  | Login  | Register  | Help  | Play 

Dudely Higgins and the Cassandra Dilemma

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Gaming Community] >> [Legends and Lore] >> Writers of Lore >> [The Bookshelves] >> Other Creative Prose >> Dudely Higgins and the Cassandra Dilemma
Forum Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
10/8/2010 15:14:34   
The Harukyuba Bros.

I'm not a professional writer, but that's my goal in life. Never been published, have yet to come close, still working on my first novel (also have a screenplay that I'm trying my hand at). But I do have this short story here, which does have the possibility of being expanded into a full length book. Every time I reread this, I'm still unsure about whether or not to do so. The original draft sounded too much like Woody Allen's work, but that changed in the revisions.

Dudely Higgins and the Cassandra Dilemma

He was afraid to comprehend where he was but he knew that the two of them were alone, or at least weren't going to be disturbed. If only he could find the exit. But then she spoke to him, and fate took a firm grasp upon his life.

"Dude, look," she said.

"I don't know if I should stare directly at it," he replied. "I could go blind."

"Dude, look."

"And didn't I tell you I prefer to be called Dudely instead of Dude?" He started squirming nervously on the stool, which seemed to be both part of and out of place in the unnatural room. "Funny story about my name, too..."

"Dudely! Look!"